This Truth

NCM 40137 — April 1st, 2014

  1. Sharanam Ganesha (3:41)
  2. This Truth (Guru Om) (4:39)
  3. Tasmai Sri-Gurave Namah (3:14)
  4. Saraswati (5:58)
  5. Tara (4:48)
  6. Shri Ram Jai Ram (6:14)
  7. Srimat Para Brahma Guru Bhajami (3:11)
  8. Om Mani Padme Hum (10:28)
  9. Just As A Drop (3:53)
  10. Maha-Mrityunjaya Mantra (7:20)

Special Guests:
R.A. Fish – Tabla on “Shri Ram Jai Ram”
Brendan Whipple – Electric Guitar on “This Truth”

Recorded by Geoff Hazelrigg and Eric Hastings at The Grapevine – Providence, RI
and Collective Acoustics Lab – Chalfont, PA.
Mixed by Geoff Hazelrigg and Tania Alexandra at Collective Acoustics Lab, Chalfont, PA.
Mastered by Tom Volpicelli at the Mastering House, Pottstown, PA.

All compositions by Tania Alexandra, Eric Hastings, Geoff Hazelrigg, & George Hazelrigg.
Tumbletat Publishing (SESAC), Eric Hastings Publishing (BMI), GAH GAH Music (ASCAP).

Photos by Savvas Koushiappas
Design by Christopher McNulty

NCM 40137 — April 1st, 2014

Tania Alexandra (Gitali) & Collective Acoustics

This Truth

THIS TRUTH, a collaborative album between Tania Alexandra and Collective Acoustics, fluently blends the ancient lyrics of Sanskrit with tranquil and ambient harmonies to construct an intentionally modern, but seemingly timeless spiritual tone. Just as the practice of Yoga continues to evolve, these artists have put forth sacredly antiquated mantras into a harmonically rich formation. The sound is trancelike. Its mixing of kirtan chants, acoustic beats, and serene but stimulating galvanic undertones work together to draw out peaceful spirits. The project’s organic development, through its free form exploration in song writing and production, has culminated in a collection of intimate spiritual expressions; expressions of healing, of subtle revelation, and of the mystically unfolding nature of contemplation. The artists’ experimentation in dynamic musical integration has given rise to this euphonic work, which will appeal to each listener’s own idiosyncratic sense of meditative harmony.

  • Band Members
  • Tania Alexandra (Gitali) Voice, Guitar
  • Eric Hastings Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals
  • Geoff Hazelrigg Upright Bass, Electric Bass
  • George Hazelrigg Organ, Rhodes, Wurlitzer, Piano, Moog

  • News & Reviews
  • This Truth is different from any other album we have done together.  It is a full collaboration between Collective Acoustics and Tania Alexandra (Gitali) that was created over the span of a few years of precious stolen moments.  These songs were created both together as a live group as well as separately track by track, sending mixes and ideas back and forth through the ether. It combines sacred Sanskrit mantra and tranquil grooves woven into thoughtful arrangements that range from jazzy to funky to ambient. To be clear, there are no English lyrics, though you will find simple explanations and translations in the liner notes of the physical album as well as with the Bandcamp digital download.

    a message from Tania (Gitali):
    “For so many reasons, this creative process has been deeply inspiring. Not only have I always admired the incredible talent and musicianship of the members in Collective Acoustics, but I also have a deep reverence and awe for the sacred practice of Mantra, and am so deeply grateful that this practice has graced my life. Connected to each song is a story of how these mantras came to me and what they have revealed to me up to this moment in my life. Stay tuned for more details and tour dates. With love and gratitude, Tania.